This memorial was erected c.1880 to commemorate Lady Mary Howard who died at Ashtead Park in 1879. She and her ancestor, Lady Diana Feilding, were responsible for almshouses in The Street Ashtead.
The inscription on the shaft is as follows:-
This cross & fountain are erected in memory of the Honorable Mrs Mary Greville Howard by the parishioners of Ashtead and many of her relations and friends she was beloved and honored during a long life spent in doing good and mourned by all when taken to rest on Oct. 19 1877 at Ashtead Park aged 92. Her works do follow her.
The memorial is a listed monument (https://historicengland.org.uk/listing/the-list/list-entry/1188512) and is now not looking its best. The seats alongside the monument are also in need of attention.
Recently the Residents' Association in conjunction with St George's Church and the British Legion have repaired the War Memorial and surrounding stonework and railings. Therefore we have some experience in managing these repairs. However we have no-one available to take on this Memorial and we are now calling for volunteers to take on the management of the Howard Memorial to bring it and the surrounding land and seating up to a good standard.
The Memorial stands on land owned by Mole Valley Council and it may be there would be funds available to fulfil this task though as this is a listed monument prior permission for any work would need to be obtained from the appropriate authority.